IMG_20160310_101850395

“Warrior Goddess Training” by Heatherash Amara

 

On Goodreads, this book was given a rating of 4.18 (446 ratings) I am giving it 4 stars. Some things had to be quoted from the book, I did list the page number. I simply became tongue tied and couldn’t come up with my own words. Sometimes it was simply because I didn’t understand it. But somehow through all the lessons, I was able to see my life and knew I wanted change.

IMG_20160301_131200584_HDR

Quoted from the back of the book, “It provides the antidote to the flawed idea that you are not enough. Direct, honest, and unapologetic, Amara will show you how to release the layers of expectations to finally see yourself for the authentic, perceptive, perfect woman you really are. If you don’t love and honor yourself with every fiber of your being, if you struggle with owning your power and passion, if you could use more joyful play and simple presence in your life, then it is time for an inner revolution. It is time to claim your Warrior Goddess energy. Drawing on the wisdom from Buddhism, the Toltec tradition, and ancient Earth – based goddess spirituality, the Warrior Goddess path includes personal stories, rituals, and exercises that will encourage and inspire you to become the true warrior goddess you are meant to be.”

I decided this book was something I needed to read. I have been battling with some health issues, became negative about myself and about others. I was hoping to find some way of finding peace within myself and a balance. This blog will be somewhat different, I am going to dissect this book chapter by chapter, exploring my own self and blogging about my experiences good or bad. I might be wrong how I read and understood it, this was something much more different.

Chapter 1

Commit to You

Don’t ever give up.

Don’t ever give in.

Don’t ever stop trying.

Don’t ever sell out.

And if you find yourself succumbing to one of the above for a brief moment,

Pick yourself up, brush yourself off, whisper a prayer, and start where you left off.

But never, ever, ever give up.

Richelle E. Goodrich

While reading this I realize that I need to focus on myself more. Not in a selfish way, but in a way that keeps everything balanced within myself. I can love myself for not just the good qualities, but for my faults as well. We must let go of the past that made us feel like we couldn’t face our struggles. When my best friend died, I held on to the grief, thinking things were not fair that I was still alive and she wasn’t. Regrets of not talking like we used to even after we promised we would stay in touch. So the day I found out she was in a coma, not able to wake up ever again that there wasn’t no more brain activity, I realized all the time I wasted. Those regrets I live with every day. So it’s time, to keep myself balanced, I need to move on from the past. This chapter also helps me somewhat to realize that my chronic illness that has me running through so many emotions, must be left in the past also. Instead of fighting against this, I need to work with my body to keep everything balanced.

IMG_20160229_180657469
Speed walking with my Superman shirt!!! I’ve Got This

 

Chapter 2

Align With Life

I love to see a young girl go out and grab the world by the lapels. Life’s a bitch. You’ve got to go out and kick ass. – Maya Angelou

With this lesson, I hear the phrase, “It’s not fair.” Well again, I remember saying that not only as a child but also as an adult. A lot!! If everything is going smooth, I handle things very well, but once I stray off the path, I totally forget being calm and become emotional and feel the world has it out for me. I know it’s sad, but it’s true. Then I find myself thinking, well this isn’t fair. It isn’t fair that I have a chronic illness that doctors can’t seem to figure out. It’s not fair that I can’t have a spontaneous life I once led. It’s not fair that I feel like I get left out of so many things, because I am not sure I won’t get sick. In this book, it tries to explain to you that you can’t control life or understand it. As quoted from page 16, “Change is natural. As we honor the flows of life – birth and death, coming together and splitting apart – and look for the beauty in both the flourishing, bright flower and in the fading, browning bloom, we find balance and acceptance.” You must understand, we simply cannot control life.

IMG_20160301_133441401
I’m Grabbing Life By The Horns

 

Chapter 3

Purify Your Vessel

The thing that is really hard, and really amazing, is giving up on being perfect and beginning the work of becoming yourself. – Anna Quindlen

The vessel is you, everything that puts you all together. Mind, energy, emotions, and your physical body is your vessel. You must stop judging yourself. Take a few minutes and focus on yourself. 5 – 10 minutes of meditation can do wonders and just focus on your breathing. Sometimes taking a walk in nature can clear your mind and purify your thinking. If your current friends are in the negative area, if they are always feeling judgmental and has a I’m a victim approach, you might need to find a different circle of friends. Find a great support group. If that includes finding friends who are great supporters there is nothing wrong with change. Be true to you.

IMG_20160301_133140994
This is me, I’m not embarrassed to say that!

 

Chapter 4

Ground Your Being and Free Your Past

No one can make you feel inferior without your consent. – Eleanor Roosevelt

In this chapter, “It asks you to think of one or two main stories you have told yourself about past events that cause you suffering.” (Quoted on page 50) It asks you to find the good things in your story. This is why I started blogging originally. I woke up one morning and my life changed. I had major health issues! My dad many years ago was diagnosed with Colon Cancer and so when I started having horrible problems, it looked like I was going to get a Colonoscopy. Weird being 40 and finding out that I wasn’t going to wait till I was 50 like the average person. I’m really glad that I had diarrhea and needed this procedure. Had I waited till I was 50, I could have had colon cancer. They found two pre-cancerous polyps that they removed. So blessed I had this done at 40. That would be the positive out of something I thought was “The End of the World.”

20160313_111722
I’m trying to realize that things happen for a reason

 

 

Chapter 5

Energize Your Sexuality and Creativity

So I say, if you are burning, burn. If you can stand it, the shame will burn away and leave you shining, radiant, and righteously shameless. – Elizabeth Cunningham

In this chapter, it tells you that you should throw all the stories you have heard about sex into the trash cans. This includes the ideas that you must wear skimpy clothing just to achieve being noticed. Quoted from page 63, “Sex is not wrong, dirty, immoral, or amoral. It is the central driving force of creation on the planet.” We shouldn’t be shameful about our sexual desires and dreams.

20160313_111809
I’m beautiful in my own way

 

Chapter 6

Claim Your Strength and Ignite Your Will

There are only two types of women – goddesses and doormats. – Pablo Picasso

It talks in this chapter about Core strategies and how they sap our strength. It is how you react when you are scared or confused about something. Controllers, Distractors, Isolators and Pleasers.

Controllers are the ones who like to control everything around them. They use domination and manipulation and believe that they are always right. I know many people like this. My significant other is very much like this. It’s what makes him a great Union Rep for the company he works for. He’s always been a great leader and of course he is never wrong. I always said he would make a great lawyer and probably win most of his cases.

Distractors are the ones who keep themselves busy playing countless hours on video games, (my son) someone who has a hobby, (reading, is something I do a lot) finding anything that can be a distraction and they also have a hard time focusing on what they want! We always find something to keep us distracted during tough times.

Isolators are the ones who hide when they are scared or feeling very uncomfortable. This one I could write the most about considering this whole thing is me. Quoted from the book “They have a strong connection to the spirt, but are split between a yearning to be deeply seen and understood and a desire to be invisible.” So for myself, when things get tough and I get scared and uncomfortable, I quickly find an escape route. I have found blogging to be an easy way to express myself more because, no one really knows me here. They do, but they don’t.

Pleasers are believed to always helping others. Ever heard of people pleasers? This is them. They want everyone to be happy and go out of there way just to make sure this happens. They do end up feeling victimized and resentful because they either think it’s their fault that someone is so unhappy or that they start to neglect themselves just to ensure others are happy. This sometimes falls under as being a parent. We always want our kids to be happy.

It’s funny, because I see myself in each of these strategies. I am usually not a leader, but I tend to find myself always having the last word or wanting to always be right, I like things controlled and running smooth and I feel a little messy if things are changing. I do not like change at all. I love reading a book. I carry a book even if I don’t think I will get time to read, if it’s there…I feel safe. It is a huge distraction for me. I like to isolate myself to my house. I dislike large groups. I am not saying I haven’t done it because I go to concerts but at the same time, I can’t wait to be home where I feel safe. I do great at work because I have done it for 15 years, it feels like home to me, lol. I am that people pleaser person also, I like to make sure everyone is happy. I don’t like it when someone is mad at me, I hate seeing someone in desperate need of attention and I want to make it my mission to get them laughing again.

20160313_111842
I just want to be able to control how things go in my day, read my books to keep me distracted from the things I couldn’t change, Isolate to read in peace, and still keep everyone happy cause I’m a people pleaser!

 

Chapter 7

Open Your Heart

Seeking love keeps you from the awareness that you already have it – that you are it. – Byron Katie

Quoted on page 96, the most intimate relationship you will ever have is with yourself. But if you don’t love every aspect of yourself, then your relationship is out of balance. When the inner judge or inner victim shows up, the path of the Warrior Goddess invites you to love these parts of yourself as well. Compassion is the key to doing so.

Sometimes we guard our hearts vigorously. Whether something traumatic has happened or had gotten your feelings hurt, we can build a wall surrounding the heart to keep it from happening again. Now you’re the victim. Sometimes when you look at yourself in negative way, your judge comes out and starts to whisper judging words. “Don’t wear that outfit, your too fat.”

20160313_125641
Loving me, for me, from me, cause I’m me!

 

Chapter 8

Speak Your Truth

Do you really want to look back on your life and see how wonderful it could have been had you not been afraid to live it? – Caroline Myss

Remember back in the day when it was, Children should be seen and not heard? Lie to them if you think the truth will hurt them? Women who speak their mind are bossy? Women should support whatever their partner prefers? How about, women should put the needs of others before her own? Is it really better to not say anything than to upset others? I have heard many others but I have also heard this saying, “Truth shall set you free.” Sometimes I think we can be honest and express ourselves to the point that it can benefit both. If someone wants to know if you want to go do something, but you decided you just can’t. Explain it to them truthfully. No I don’t care to go because I haven’t been feeling well and I don’t want to take a chance on ruining your day, or I am sorry, I can’t go because I made other obligations with another friend, or I am sorry, I really don’t like that stuff. This way you’re being totally honest and still being kind to that person or friend. There are many ways to express how you feel, communicate your feelings without hurting someone else. Do not say yes, when you are really feeling no. Resentment will start to kick in and then you’re hurting not only yourself, but your friend.

So let’s say you are in a sticky situation with your friend. Always give time for everyone involved to not be frustrated or upset. When you’re able to find a more secluded place and everyone is in a calmer manner, simply express how you’re feeling about the relationship. When you’re in a calm environment and the party is in a calm manner, sometimes you can come to an understanding a lot better than doing it when you are all mad and out of control. Always make sure you speak from the heart, say what you mean and mean what you say.

Chapter 9

Embody Your Wisdom

The intuitive mind is a sacred gift and the rational mind is a faithful servant. We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift. – Albert Einstein

This lesson simply is about intuition. Most of the time we have that gut feeling that something is wrong! Sometimes when we think something is wrong, doesn’t always mean that there is. This chapter simply teaches us how we can make our intuition much stronger.

20160316_181557

Chapter 10

Choose Your Path

Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one’s courage.

Quoted from page 136, “Once you are on the Warrior Goddess path, you will realize that you have a choice, that you’re no longer a slave to other people’s ideas about how you should live your life, nor are you trapped by your own outdated belief system. You are becoming the woman you want to be, which is synonymous with who you are meant to be.”

20160316_181429

 

Epilogue

I found God in myself and I loved her…I loved her fiercely. – Ntozake Shange

Quoted from page 152. “Be a Warrior Goddess. Keep cleaning, keep living the Warrior Goddess lessons. Commit to you. Align with Life. Purify Your Vessel. Ground Your Being and Free Your Past. Energize Your Sexuality and Creativity. Claim Your Strength and Ignite Your Will. Open Your Heart. Speak Your Truth. Embody Your Wisdom. Choose Your Path. Repeat. Keep saying yes to yourself and let the nectar of your yes overflow so others can find their unique, divine yes. Be an inspiration. Be Yourself.”

Well I finally finished this book. I read it, I applied several things from life into this book and how I related with it. Some things I still don’t understand, but for the most part…I could be a Warrior Goddess! Read so you possibly can too!!

 

2 thoughts on “Warrior Goddess Training

Leave a Reply

