The 5th Wave

img1458410396073 (1)

“The 5th Wave” by Rick Yancey

Quoted from book. “After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, just one rule applies: trust no one. Now it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. From award – winning author Rick Yancey comes a gripping epic of catastrophic loss, unthinkable odds, and unflinching courage.”

images-1
I do not get credit for this photo

Rated 4.17 (175,389 ratings) on Goodreads, I am giving it a 5 star rating. I love the plot, it has infatuated me, and it’s kept me flipping from page to page. I do have 1 complaint. I remember them declaring in the book that when the 1st wave hit, everything had went black. The cars had stopped functioning, planes had crashed, and all power had went dark. However, when the survivors had made it to the 3rd wave, people became sick with a virus, totally eliminating the weak. The healthy one’s or the immune flocked to a nearby hiding spot till they could figure and sort things out. However, a school bus arrives gathering all the children and putting them on the bus to a place called Camp Haven. Promises of coming back and get the others that were left behind. My question is this….I thought all the vehicles quit functioning? Maybe I misread something, because that happens from time to time. When you’re sitting in a house with 3 kids and 1 man, and I get interrupted quite frequently it causes me to miss out on important details. I ended up getting this all finished today, and man…it was freaking exciting. I liked it so much that I put a hold on the 2nd of the series and already have a hold on book 3. Does Cassie reach the camp and save her brother? Well that is where you will need to read the book to find out. This book was filled with a lot of intense, jaw dropping, heart stopping action. I am not into Sci-fi books, but this one had me from page 1. Can’t wait to read book 2.

Leave a Reply

