Grandma’s Holiday Cheer

Computer

Earlier today, I had to get motivated and do some cleaning, and if anyone knows me at all, sometimes I get started and find myself beginning to slack off and then nothing gets finished because the lazy bug moves in like a ninja and well…lets just say, nothing gets done the rest of the day. Aside from cleaning the kitchen, I worked on a few photo’s, made a really quick and easy supper, and decided to blog a bit. I realize I haven’t been on in a while. But between working, housework and reading, I don’t find a lot of time. Aside from those things I also try and read a bit of the bible and try to reflect and do some deep thinking.

12342541_10207712622555352_1851364430751905610_n

So here I sit, blogging about my weekend, picking out the pieces from Friday to today.  My Friday begins at 5 pm when work is complete. Everyone is usually TGIF and I am over here going TGIF 5pm…..lol. My daughter reports in a text message that she’s on her way with my grandson, who gets to spend the night with his grandma. Remember that wonderful feeling you got, when that day came and you had a sleepover with one of your friends? It’s that same feeling when you realize your grandkid is coming to stay as well. The excitement when 5pm gets here and you race home.

As soon as everyone gets here, you head over to get a quick couple of shots of you and the kids in front of this Christmas tree. The one where we all sit around the tree and make that your Christmas Card, that never makes it in the mail before Christmas, but does pop up on Facebook. When that’s over, you head over to Union Station and Crown Center for a couple of hours of fun.

After about 30 minutes, you find yourself becoming one of the people who develop road rage, except your not in the car on the road. You begin to count to ten, you try to smile and act in a way that makes everyone think your happy and enjoying yourself, but deep down inside you want to scream at the idiocy of some people. They somehow pretend they don’t realize that you are behind them and they just stop! Like no clue as to what they are doing except stop!  If anyone knows me, I can go from happy to ticked off in approximately 10 seconds. You know that resting bitch face some people get, yes that’s me!!! At this point, I am close to telling people to move their ass. But I have my grandkid with me so I count to 10 and keep moving. We finally make it to the play area and I am ready to capture a shot of my grandkid having a great time when some child is climbing over the fire truck and proceeds to almost kick my grandson in his head. This girl, much older than Aiden is bouncing like her rear is on fire, climbing all over the fire truck and proceeds to almost kick him in the head with her shoe. I mean seriously, it’s a fire truck not a damn monkey bar. So I grab him and move on to the next fun thing to play on, and I see it’s a tractor. He loves his tractors, however I tell him we must wait for the other child to get off because we must take turns. At this point I know that mother heard me, but they all just stand around while the girl does nothing but sit in the tractor seat. Not to have her picture taken, not to pretend to drive the tractor but just sits there doing absolutely nothing but watching us waiting. I begin to count, I have counted to 10 twice at this point. The mother, has turned and noticed us standing there, I know she knows that we are waiting for her kid to move on to something else but instead, they just do nothing. We are beginning to get hungry so we walk away. You can only wait so long, and after waiting what felt like forever but was only 10 minutes, I finally said to hell with it. I gave the mother a hateful look after counting to 10 a fourth time. We decide that were starving and my grandson say’s “Grandma, McDonalds.” Well I know what that means, lets go!!!

We grab our meal at McDonalds because their McRibs are back and once we get home we realize, they stiffed me on 1 of the sandwiches, of course they did. They want $15 bucks an hour, yet never can get your meal right. They are not the only one’s either. Taco Bell and Sonic do it all the time. Like I can just turn around and go back to get there screw up. Happens every time I go there. We eat and then lay down exhausted to watch a movie. I’m old,  I never make it past a half an hour if I lay down. And without realizing it, I fall asleep, forgetting to take my bile binder.  The kids and I wake up at 5:30am and that’s when I realize, shit, I forgot my medicine. Aiden is awake for some reason, not wanting to fall back to sleep. Eventually, my grandson, falls back to sleep with my son. Hurray, grandma gets a few more extra hours of some zzz’s.

12345386_10207714454361146_2422384251867502323_n

Later on, we get up and I make breakfast, who doesn’t like bacon? So I scramble some eggs, fry a few slices of bacon and some sausage. This has become a typical Saturday morning breakfast for us. Afterwards,  I go down in the basement and start digging out the Christmas decorations. I wasn’t going to put up the tree this year, I don’t know the reason why, I’m not being a scrooge, but the thought of putting a tree up isn’t what I feel like doing. My kids are all teenagers and don’t care if I put a tree up or not, I seem to be the only one who helps put the tree up anymore, I begin to think about that book called Skipping Christmas and I am thinking, that is exactly what I wanted to do this year. Skip Christmas. So I ask my grandson if he wants to put up my tree, and yes was his answer. Feeling guilty, I head to the basement and drag all of it up here. Finished looking nice and in the kitchen.

 

Later on, when your grandchild heads home, a pile of toys remain, scattered in several rooms of your home with the remembrance of a little boy who played hard. I sit here, picking up his toys and feel the emptiness that hangs in the air, how quiet and still everything is. His giggles are now nothing but a memory! Remember that feeling you got when your friend went home? It felt the same exact way. So he leaves, I clean up the house a bit and do absolutely nothing. And here I sit, blogging with nothing else on my mind. I am simply exhausted and ready to go to bed. Until another day……night!

 

 

Leave a Reply

